Diverse collection with magnificent river views, Origin early 19th century developed in 1920s/30s. Rhododendrons, camellias, acers, conifers hydrangeas, and tree ferns. Gently sloping site sheltered by woodland & surrounded by 376 acres parkland.

Wooded slopes lead down to the water with oaks and beeches overhanging the mudflats of the tidal creeks. The King Harry Ferry below Trelissick is the only connection across the water to the Roseland peninsular on the other side of the estuary.

Trelissick is a modest two-story villa, remodeled in 1825 by Peter Frederick Robinson adding the columned portico. Robinson’s patron was Thomas Daniell whose father had bought the estate in 1800 with the inherited fortune from tin-mining interests.

Much of the woodland along the shores of the estuary was planted by Thomas Daniell, the drives he laid out in the park are now shady woodland walks. There are some of the huge holm oaks and conifers in the garden. The garden as seen today was largely created by Mr and Mrs Ronald Copeland after Mrs Copeland inherited Trelissick in 1937.

There are splendid views across a great sweep of grass to the Carrick Roads. On clear days you can see as far as Pendennis Castle in the distance.

The garden which has many exotic plants needs protection from the prevailing wind. Planted are many species that flourish in the mid Cornish air, including the great range of rhododendrons and azaleas that are such a major feature of the garden. Together with eucalyptus, maples and exotic plants such as the ginkgo and many palms.

The garden has an intimate feel with trees sheltering and enclosing the valley. As you explore the winding paths there are many changes of level and perspective, parts shaded by oaks and beeches and high hedges, in contrast open into areas of grass.

The main lawn is shaded by a magnificent Japanese cedar with borders devoted to summer-flowering shrubs and plants. The walks lead to the summer house and a Saxon cross and then back to a raised drive. You can get a glimpse of the dell at the heart of the garden with rhododendrons, banana tree and other exotic plants.

A rustic bridge leads over the Ferry Road, through the centre of the garden, to the Carcadden area a newer part of the garden. Planted informally with great cedars and cypresses and there are many camellias, magnolias, flowering cherries, rhododendrons and hydrangeas.

Center map


Follow the A39 from Falmouth or Truro; then onto the B3289 at Playing Place and follow brown sign posts or signs to the King Harry Ferry.

Sat-Nav: Put in our Trelissick postcode TR3 6QL.


  • Taste Cornish produce indoors or out at Crofters restaurant
  • Find the perfect souvenir in our shop and plant sales
  • Discover work from Cornish artists and craftspeople in the gallery
  • Toilet facilities
  • Picnic area
  • Dogs: assistance dogs only in garden; welcome in woodland if under control
  • Majority of garden contains level or gently sloping paths suitable for pushchairs
  • Baby-changing facilities
  • Mobility parking, 30 yards
  • Mobility toilet – adjacent to main WC
  • large print guide and certain foreign language translations
  • Grounds – partly accessible, uneven and loose gravel paths, slopes, some steps. Map of accessible route
  • One single-seater powered-mobility-vehicle, booking essential to ensure availability

Opening Times / Admission

Please click here for details


Address: Trelissick Garden, Feock, Truro, Cornwall, TR3 6QL
Telephone: 01872 862090

Additional Information

For further information please visit our main website